Ibrahim Elkabbani and Jana Shiha win the HCL-SRFI India Tour

Posted On Mon, February 03, 2020, 3:35 PM
The HCL—SRFI India Tour (Jaipur leg) was an initiative under the HCL Squash Podium Program aimed at transforming India’s squash ecosystem

Jaipur : HCL, a leading global conglomerate, today announced the successful completion of the fourth leg of the HCL-SRFI India Tour. The four-day tournament was held at the Rajasthan Squash Academy, Sawai Man Singh Stadium from January 30 till February 02 and saw participation from over 50 players from nine countries. Ibrahim Elkabbani from Egypt won the Championship in the men’s category of $6k; while Jana Shiha from Egypt won the women’s event of $12K. The winners were felicitated by Chief Guest, Dr Subhash Garg, Minister Higher Education, Govt. of Rajasthan.

Congratulating the winners of the HCL-SRFI India Tour, Rajat Chandolia, Head of Brand Initiatives, HCL Corporation said, “I believe that the HCL Squash Podium Program, which was conceptualized in partnership with SRFI, has started having a positive impact on the PSA rankings of Indian players, as they are now able to play more matches on their home turf. Conducting international-grade tournaments is however, one part of HCL’s larger efforts to re-envision the entire Squash ecosystem in the country. I am hopeful that HCL and SRFI’s continued partnership will create a platform to catapult talented Indian Players into the international stage.” 

Cyrus Poncha, Secretary General, Squash Rackets Federation of India (SRFI) said, “I would like to congratulate all the players on their brilliant performances. Not just in India, but even in tournaments abroad, the Indian squash players are setting new benchmarks of success and I am confident that the future of Indian Squash is very bright. Our association with HCL has been beneficial for the sport and this is the 14th event that we have successfully concluded under our partnership.”

The finale match in the men’s category was fought between Abhishek Pradhan from India and Ibrahim Elkabbani from Egypt where Ibrahim won the title with score of 3-1 in a match that lasted for 38 minutes. In the women’s category Jana Shiha from Egypt beat Salma Eltayeb from Egypt with a 3-1 score in a match that lasted 30 minutes. 

This press release is posted under categories Entertainment, Sports

Follow us on

Daily Updates